SPONSOR:  Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE) (202) 224-2441


 Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) (202) 224-4654

Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) (202) 224-5653
Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO) (202) 224-5852
Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) (202) 224-2823
Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ) (202) 224-3224
Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) (202) 224-2315
 Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) (202) 224-3441
Sen. Ben Cardin (D-MD) (202) 224-4524
 Sen. Bob Casey (D-PA) (202) 224-6324
Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE) (202) 224-5042
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) (202) 224-3542
Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) (202) 224-2854
Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL) (202) 224-2152
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) (202) 224-3841
Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) (202) 224-4451
Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-NM) (202) 224-5521
Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-HI) (202) 224-6361
Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA) (202) 224-4024
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) (202) 224-3244
Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT) (202) 224-4242
Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA) (202) 224-2742
 Sen. Bob Menendez (D-NJ) (202) 224-4744
Sen. Jeff Merkley (D-OR) (202) 224-3753
Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT) (202) 224-4041
Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) (202) 224-2621
Sen. Alex Padilla (D-CA) (202) 224-3553
Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI) (202) 224-6221
Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI) (202) 224-4642
Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-NV) (202) 224-6244
Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT) (202) 224-5141
Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI) (202) 224-3934
Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY) (202) 224-6542
Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN) (202) 224-5641
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) (202) 224-4822
Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA) (202) 224-2023
Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) (202) 224-4543
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) (202) 224-2921
Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR) (202) 224-5244


Sen. Margaret Wood Hassan (D-NH) (202) 224-3324
Sen. Ben Ray Luján (D-NM) (202) 224-6621
Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-GA) (202) 224-3643

 Sen. Jon Tester (D-MT) (202) 224-2644
Sen. Jon Ossoff (D-GA) (202) 224-3521
Sen. John Hickenlooper (D-CO) (202) 224-5941
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) (202) 224-2841

 Democrats appear in BLUE.
 Independent appears in BLACK.

 List of U.S. Senators (117th Congress).


Carper Leads Senate Democrats in Reintroducing Statehood Bill to Ensure Equal Representation for Over 700,000 D.C. Residents

D.C. Statehood legislation, with historic number of original cosponsors, becomes
one of the first bills introduced in the U.S. Senate during the 117th Congress


WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Tom Carper (D-Del.), a senior member of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee (HSGAC), is, once again, leading a group of Democratic senators in re-introducing legislation to grant Washington, D.C. statehood. The bill, which Senator Carper first introduced in 2013, would make Washington, D.C. the 51st state, finally give its citizens full representation in Congress, and also ensure that the citizens and elected leaders of the District of Columbia have full authority over local affairs, including crucial safety and security matters. The Washington, D.C. Admission Act (S.51) would also designate the areas surrounding the White House, the Capitol, the Supreme Court, and the National Mall as the seat of the federal government. That area would inherit the name the “Capital” and remain under the control of Congress, as mandated by the Constitution.


“Our nation’s capital is home to more than 700,000 Americans who, despite our nation’s founding mantra — ‘no taxation without representation’ — pay their share of taxes without full voting representation in either chamber of Congress. In fact, despite paying more in federal taxes per capita than citizens of any of the 50 states, D.C. residents have no say in how those taxes are actually spent. This isn’t a Republican or Democratic issue; it’s an American issue because the lack of fair representation for D.C. residents is clearly inconsistent with the values on which this country was founded. It is therefore incumbent upon all of us who enjoy the right and the privilege of full voting rights and representation to take up the cause of our fellow citizens in the District of Columbia. We must use our voices to call out this historic injustice and right this wrong. I am hopeful that we can finally come together to do just that this Congress,” said Senator Carper. “I want to thank Congresswoman Norton and Mayor Bowser for their steadfast leadership and partnership on this issue. I’m proud to be introducing this bill this Congress with the highest number of original cosponsors we have ever received and with the support of all the Senators who represent the communities that make up the greater Washington metro area in Maryland and Virginia.”

Read the full Press Release from January 27, 2021.

snip - NEWSROOM.png